By The Rivers Of Babble-On

I was listening to Radio Babylon by Meat Beat Manifesto the other day when something bleedin’ obvious struck me. Have a listen and see if you can guess what:

No, not the fact that Liam Howlett half-inched the breakbeat for Charly a year later, nor the fact that the bassline sounds very similar to FSOL’s Papua New Guinea (but not identical, as I once proved to Tim from Mutant Pop/Radio Clash by singing both basslines to him – he wasn’t entirely convinced, but I was drunk).

It’s not even the fact that this was one of the very first proto-jungle tunes (although it was).

Nope, it’s the source of the main vocal sample.

“Baaaa-by-lon!”

Now where the hell have I heard that before?

Oh yeah! A fifth birthday party, in Bedford, in about 1980. Probably my own fifth birthday party. It’s fucking BONEY M!!!!*

I revealed this little-known factoid on Twitter yesterday, and here’s Luke Dsico‘s response:

Well, it made me laugh anyway.

(and I always, ALWAYS end up singing “how shall we sing the Lord’s song in Australia”. WHY?!?!!?)

*I don’t usually do multiple exclamation marks, but they’re entirely justified in this case

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “By The Rivers Of Babble-On”

  1. Cubmatic Radio Tim Says:

    you’d have known this if you’d watched my Kleptones Welcome Back video 😉

    And I still think you were wrong about that bassline…one note in it, maybe 😛

  2. leespoons Says:

    That one note makes all the difference. It is possible that FSOL sampled the MBM track though – it’s certainly influenced by it if not.

  3. Jez CMP Says:

    You’re both wrong about the bassline to this, charly and FSOL – they’re all a wee bit different.

    Although Prodigy were heavily inspired by it for “Break and Enter” which basically IS radio babylon without the huge reverb on the drums.

  4. Jez CMP Says:

    …Well at the beginning anyway

  5. leespoons Says:

    I never said the MBM bassline sounded like the bassline to Charly, I said that Liam nicked the drums for it.

    That reminds me, I’ve got a load of CDs to sell, including Music For The Jilted Generation (which I haven’t listened to for years but I don’t need it as much as I need beer money, and I’m sure it’s on spotify anyway)

Leave a Reply

